THE STORY OF A KISS

I recall our first encounter in your favorite coffee shop, alongside the smell of fresh roasted coffee as if it was yesterday. On the longest street of the most crowded city of Orient, I met the love of my life, and I decided on the spot that I’ll never let it go. So, I had to be very careful not to remain stuck in traffic on the highway of lost dreams, because I didn’t want to lose this one, or be caught in the shadow of doubt on the complicated road of feelings and emotions, otherwise my love would arrive at the wrong destination. Spring had come and was warming the passengers’ souls walking on the street. The air smelled of jasmine and frangipani, a bit heavy and sweet, but Jasmine tea is my favorite. Everywhere you would turn around the head, cats were meowing at corners like spoiled ladies in misery, hungry for love and attention.

It happened to be a beautiful Wednesday full of light and unpredictable. Meeting you by chance was the most memorable event of that day, which led me to an overwhelming carousel of feelings. I instantly felt my prayers being listened to, and my dream coming true unexpectedly. As I entered the coffee shop you noticed me immediately, undoubtedly seeing my embarrassment when our eyes met. You looked at me like no other man did before, and in that moment, I surely felt your interest. You simply gave me your trademark large smile, full of meanings and a blink of an eye. I was standing still, not being able to move or articulate any words, blocking the entrance. Fate was talking in silence on my behalf, knocking me on the shoulder. Or should I say kısmet? My blood pressure increased at once, my ears were snapping like crazy, while my tension dropped down to a dangerous level. And suddenly, as if we knew from past lives, you stood up so naturally and waved, inviting me to come and sit down at your table, while ordering the same coffee as you had in front of you. The famous black coffee. We have the same tastes. I know everything about you, even if you know nothing about me. I was so shocked that fate put you on my path that day, while I sat down before you shaking as if I had fever, not being able to articulate the slightest sound. When you looked at me intensely, with your famous gaze, I thought I was going to faint on the spot. I stared at you too, but nevertheless for some moments, which seemed an eternity, silence was the queen of the table. The man of my life was sitting in front of me in flesh and blood. Undoubtedly, the most handsome man alive. Wow! I must be dreaming. This kind of encounter happens only in movies or books, not in real life, doesn’t it? Suddenly, I became mute, and my head was empty. The so-called speech prepared for this moment has vanished. My emotions reached you and you took my hand to calm me down. My blood pressure increased even harder when your hand touched mine. I felt electrocuted.

  • Hi! What’s your name? (Whaaat? He asks me my name?)
  • Aylin. (my voice sounded like a broken guitar)
  • I remember you. (I’m shocked. She remembers me?)
  • Really?? (How can he remember me?)
  • You’re shaking. I guess you’re feeling cold.
  • (How can he be so in control of him?)

He takes my hands and blows on them, while giving me the warmest glance. I melted like a marshmallow in a hot cup of cocoa.

  • Relax, I’m not going to bite you, Aylin.
  • (He just said my name?)

The next moment he talks again, he drops the bomb.

  • I’ve been waiting my whole life for you to come. What took you so long?
  • What? I mean…you’re serious? (Good Lord, he’s dead serious. I guess I’m poker face since he starts laughing loudly). The next moment all eyes are on us. I felt the urge to become invisible.
  • Never been more serious in my life. I recognized you, didn’t I?
  • Do you mind pinching me just to be sure I’m not dreaming?
  • You found me in this crowded city of 15 million people. If that’s not kısmet, then what is it?
  • You’re right. (my words continue to sound like pieces of broken glass fallen on the ground)
  • It would be strange if I told you that I’ve missed you? (Saying this he gets up, comes to me, and hugs me so tight that I almost lost my breath. I wish that moment had lasted forever)
  • I’ve missed you more than you’ll ever know. (It was my mouth that pronounced those words, or it was my thoughts running wildly through my head?)

While taking a large sip of coffee I found the courage to look straight into his eyes to tell some truths in one breath before my courage left me.

  • You’re my person, but I guess you already felt that. I ‘ve been waiting for you all my life. I traveled through time to meet you.
  • Wow! So, time must have stopped now, isn’t it? For the record, you’re my person too. I felt that when I saw you for the first time, during that meeting. It was a first time, wasn’t it?
  • You amaze me. It was. (How come he remembers?)
  • Well, then we can call this moment the first chapter of our life. Any expectations? (He just said, “our life”?? I’m losing control but I try to look calm)
  • Life taught me to have no expectations, so I only want you!
  • That’s all?
  • Yeah, that’s all. Well, there would be something else.
  • Already? What is it?
  • Your unconditional love.
  • Life taught me not to make any promises, but I think is doable.

His big smile full of meaning fatally mesmerized me.

In that moment, at that round stainless-steel table, the rest of the world instantly disappeared. There were just the two of us facing our little world, while breathing the fresh air of spring, letting us get carried away by the flow, without knowing what the future holds for us. And suddenly I felt blessed that history of my life was written from above by an unseen hand.

I lost myself in his dark eyes that hid a magical world that only I could see. They told me the most beautiful love story ever existed. The fairytale that I’ve been waiting for my whole life was here, in front of me.

Suddenly he gently takes my face between his beautiful hands, and while looking into my eyes his soft lips touches mine, giving me the most passionate kiss as if we wouldn’t have another chance to do that. This moment seemed to last forever. When I opened my eyes, I felt deeply loved like if I was the only woman on earth. I felt I belong to him. And that brought me peace and safety for the first time in my life.

I knew he was my knight, my king, my hero that would enlighten my life and would remain forever stuck between the covers of my life book, inside my heart that he shamelessly stole.

Sometimes, when I miss him badly, I open the book of my life and read him between the lines so that I can bring him closer to me, despite his absence.

Sometimes I write him an S.O.S. message: “My Prince, let’s meet in my life book, at page 235 on Wednesday at 2PM”.

He never missed a date.

Leave a comment